Monday, 20 July 2009


Lord Shiva is worshipped in form of Shivlinga. Shivlinga symbolises the supreme creative energy. It is even believed that nothing is impossible for those who worship Shivlinga. There are many stories about Shivlinga and I'm mentioning one interesting one........

Once Brahma and Vishnu were arguing over who was supreme. Suddenly there appeared Shivlinga before them a huge column of fire. Both decided that who ever will find the end of the pillar and will come first will be acknowledge as supreme. Vishnu in the form of boar dug into earth and Brahma in the form of swan flew up. They searched for days in vain. Then Shiv appeared in the column and Brahma and Vishnu realised their mistake and acknowledged Shiv as supreme. Shivling represent that column of fire Jyotirlinga. There are 12 such jyotirlinga.

1. Somnath in Saurashtra, Gujrat.
2. Mallikarjun in Srisailam, Andhra Pradesh.
3. Mahakaleshwar in Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh.
4. Omkareshwar in Shivpuri, Madhya Pradesh.
5. Kedareshwar in Kedarnath, Uttarakhand.
6. Bhimashankara in Dakini, Maharashtra.
7. Vishweshwar in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh.
8. Tryambakeshwar in Nasik, Maharashtra.
9. Vaidyanath in Deoghar, Jharkhand.
10. Nageshwar in Darukavam, Maharashtra.
11. Rameshwaram in Setubandam, Tamil Nadu.
12. Girihneswar in Ellora, Maharashtra.

1 comment:

  1. Hey keep posting such sensible and significant articles.